Musings . . .

In the midst of many, one can still feel “alone.”

Sometimes this feeling comes upon me, when I wrestle with this feeling of being “alone” in the midst of an amazing family, incredible friends and such comfort. It is perplexing to think that I am the only one inside of me looking out and the only person who knows exactly what is going on inside.

I had a conversation the other day about not being fulfilled here on earth so there is a constant groaning in our spirit to be united with Christ in fullness. We are called to be in another place; we are sojourners on a pilgrimage.

I am daily reminded to ask myself: What is the source of my worth, my contentment, my joy?

A friend of mine encouraged me with these words:
“Any life spent totally surrendered to God, trusting Him and obedience to Him will never be regretted.”
THIS is what life is all about!

I replied to his gracious reminder with these words:

You speak truth! I find myself repeating these thoughts over and over. Christ the Son of God was dependent upon the Father; how much more should I as a mortal human depend on Him? God’s ideal for humanity in the beginning was complete surrender to Him, living in complete and utter dependence. This is such a beautiful concept when grasped and lived out. We are meant to acknowledge that our lives are not in our own hands. Yet, I still find myself attempting to clutch on to the wheel of my life. When will I learn?!

In my inadequacies, He is adequate. In my weakness, He is strong. In my failings, He is always successful.

I find as I grow in Christ, the more I allow Jesus to help me die to myself, and the more I truly LIVE. The more readily I surrender my will to His, the faster I  find myself resting inHis genuine joy!

It does not make sense in the world’s eyes or even to my own sinful heart who screams “Live it up for yourself! Make the most of what you got! You deserve to feel fulfilled and satisfied at all times!”
When will my wandering heart KNOW for GOOD that this is not the case?
Truly, full contentment and joy is only found in the pursuit of Christ. He is so good and loving. Yet my heart is prone to wander. Thankfully, my Judge is my Saviour and He continually brings me back to the cross.
At the foot of the cross we see our lives clearly, in the light of His eternity and what He has done for us.

I am not alone. I am in Him. WE are not alone. We are in HIM.

Be still. And know. HE is the great I AM.

Leave a comment